Nancy J Walton RMT CRRP|Law Of Attraction Coach♥Energy Therapist - Reiki ♥ Reflexology|Essential Oils ♥ Kripalu Polarity Therapy
The Chakras

Chakra work is one of the subtlest methods of healing. Chakras are centers of awareness in the human body. They are neither physical nor anatomical and are found in the subtle energy system (Govinda, 2002). Chakra is Sanskrit for "wheel." Whereas meridians are an energy transportation system, the chakras are energy stations (Eden, 1998). Chakras are energy centers traversing the length of the spine, each accounting for a different mode of perception (Smith, 2006).

The chakras are spinning vortexes of energy that pull energy into the body from the environment and distribute them within your body. Each is connected to its corresponding energy layer and provides energy, light, and color to its region of influence within the body. 

Although the seven primary chakras are those normally referred to, there are many other minor chakras throughout the body such as those in the palms of the hands. Each chakra is paired with its counterpart on the back but they are in fact the one chakra. 

The frontal aspects are related to feelings; the rear aspects are related to the will.

The endocrine glands are located within the circuitry of the chakras: Each chakra disperses energy to its associated endocrine gland. It is no coincidence that the chakras and the endocrines are within the same spatial location throughout the body.. The inductive coupling between the etheric body and the physical body produces a variety of energy currents into the physical body and a reverse flow out of the body into the etheric body and the environment

The base or Root Chakra
Is located at the base of the spine. It carries life energies up into the body, through the other chakras, as well as down the legs.
Grounding to the Earth's energies, Support, survival & basic needs are what this represents.  This vibrates to abundance, and when trusting in the Source or Universe (the center is balanced & applied when in the world) it will give you an understanding that there is enough for everyone. 
This chakra stores our ancestral relationships, childhood and past-life material, and can be a storehouse for past traumas.  It is associated with the color red.

Earthy center:  Elimination of solids and liquids

Related anatomy: Rectum & Bladder
Essential Oils: Basil, Cinnamon, Clove, Fennel, Frankincense, Geranium, Ginger, Nutmeg, Orange, Patchouli, Pine, *Vetiver*Grounding, centering, strength, protection, money.

The Second Chakra
It is known as the sacral or abdominal chakra because of its location - from the top of the pelvic bone to the the belly button - it is the seat of creation.
It is here that the body embraces the soul.
This chakra reveals the affection and compassion of the soul, and is the center of our sexuality and is located in the lower abdomen.  
Most caring and dedicated Healers have a strong and active second Chakra which is linked to the etheric body. It is connected to our emotions, intimacy, sexuality, desire, & pleasure. This Chi area is our feeling center. When we open to our emotions, our feelings, we are capable of creating what we really want! The associated color is orange.

Water center: generative force, emotional drive, pelvic organs, glandular secretions

Related anatomy: Reproductive organs, large intestine, bladder, pelvis, and lower back.
Essential Oils: Atlas Cederwood, Bergamot, Cinnamon, Clove, Cypress, Geranium, Ginger, Grapefruit, Jasmine, Neroli, Sandalwood, Ylang Ylang. 

The Third Chakra
This wheel is located above the navel,  between the belly button and the lower rib cage, which addresses the issues of personal will, the 'self' in self-esteem, confidence and respect -Ego/Power/Will.  It is linked to the astral body and plane.  Using personal power align yourself with the divine will -notice that from there your instincts - will guide you to walk the path you were meant to.  the color associated with this is Yellow.

 The fire Center: digestion

Related anatomy: Pancreas, adrenals, stomach, small intestines, digestion, bowels, liver, spleen & middle back.
Essential Oils: Atlas Cedarwood, Basil, Bergamot, Black pepper, Cinnamon, Coriander, Cypress, Fennel, Geranium, Lemon, Orange, Rosemary, and most of what has already been mentioned.

                                                Fourth Chakra      
This 12 petaled Lotus has a more esoteric responsibility from which all the other are balanced. This is the center of the Heart of unconditional love, trust commitment, compassion and hope.
The heart chakra is the center through which all energies must pass in transit from one group of layers and from one reality to another and filters all energies, thoughts and experiences which affect us emotionally, physically and spiritually. This energy also can represent its opposite. When we are open, we generate & heal ourselves and this energy is passed on to others.

Airy center: Respiration

Related anatomy: Thymus, lungs, diaphragm, circulation, the heart.
Essential Oils:  Geranium, Bergamot, Ylang Ylang, Mandarin, Jasmine, Lavender

Fifth Chakra
This Lotus is for our communication & creativity for self-expression and is located at the base of the throat. Chose not to generate negativity by perpetuating judgements and align yourself with Divine will. Speak your truth and unlock your potential!This is the filtering point for all data that is sorted, systemized, and then dispersed as our personal expression. The color associated with this chakra is blue.

Etheric center voice 

Related anatomy:  Thyroid/parathyroid, mouth, neck, shoulders, arms, hands.
Essential Oils:  Geranium, Bergamot, Ylang Ylang, Mandarin, Jasmine, Lavender

Brow Chakra 
This Lotus is for seeing beyond what is, and the intuition from the Third Eye. Developing heightened perception and looking beyond dense matter is what awaits you when develop this chakra gaining insight & greater awareness. Visualize the life you would like to live!

Related anatomy: Pineal gland & pituitary, as well as the brain, nervous system, eyes & ears.
Essential Oils: My personal favorites are Basil, Clove, Lavendar, Nutmeg and Orange.

Crown Chakra
This thousand petaled Lotus is located at the center of the top of your head, amd vibrates to the rythm of the cosmos, as universal consciousness. This is the Chi of creation, where selflessness, humanitarianism and spirituality is nurished & nurtured to return & give to others - for true understanding is the path of the Divine.

Related anatomy: Pituitary, central nervous system, skelatal, muscular & the organ of the skin. 
Essential Oils: My most favorite are Clary Sage, Frankincense, Lavendar, Lotus & Myrrh

 There are 21 Minor Chakras and 144 altogether.